University of Calabar to hold 35th convocation, graduates 11 First Class

Prof. Florence Banku Obi, the Vice Chancellor of the University of Calabar has said 11 students will graduate with First Class out of the 7,769 graduands of the university, at the 35th convocation ceremony of the institution.

Obi made this known to newsmen on Monday, in Calabar, during a pre-convocation press conference heralding the ceremonies slated for May 1 to May 7, 2023.

While reeling out the activities for the 35th Convocation Ceremony, Obi said there would be a Convocation Lecture with the title “The Leadership and Followership Question In Nigeria, Imperative of Ethical Re-orientation”, to be delivered by the Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Agboola Ibrahim Gambari in Calabar.

The VC said the graduands include 5,031 undergraduates, 2153 postgraduates, 171 diploma students, 413 sandwich students comprising 11 First Class, 899 Second Class Upper, 3396 Second Class Lower, 721 Third Class.

“The 35th convocation of our great institute is about to kick start. This year’s convocation is a week-long activity that is commencing today. We will be paying homage to the royal fathers after our meeting here. The royal fathers in Calabar who we see as the landlords and custodians of the tradition and customs of the great people of Cross River State.”

“We will also be doing two major activities the following day which are the interdenominational service which will be held at the International Conference Center and the Research Fair and Exhibition, amongst other activities” She added.

She also added that honorary awards would be conferred on former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, MD/CEO Northwest Petroleum & Gas Co. Ltd, Dame Winifred Akpani, and Ms. Tola Johnson.

“We selected three Nigerians for awards. One of them is His Excellency, former President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan. We also have the CEO Northwest Petroleum & Gas Co. Ltd, and we also have another lady of the younger generation, Ms. Tola Johnson.”

Obi said that the three eminent personalities are selected after a thorough, rigorous, as well as merit-based selection process with the Senate.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.